Dancefloor Music : Electronic : House : Deep House : Techno : Minimal Tech (Header)

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Minus 8 :: Slow Motion

Minus 8  :: Slow Motion
Minus 8 is the moniker of Swiss based architect/producer, Robert Jan Meyer, who is respon­si­ble for numer­ous nu jazz clas­sics such as the Minuit album and other periodical cuts on Stereo Deluxe and Com­post. ‘Slow Motion’ is some­what of a return home for him, as though having con­sis­tent discog­ra­phy inter­vals, this is his first album on com­post in 4 years. The same can respec­tively be said for Com­post, a label that has been evolv­ing its sound (and roster) over the last couple of years, Minus 8 is def­i­nitely up there with Fauna Flash, Bean­field and Les Gammas as the main play­ers of the nu jazz scene 10 years ago. Listening to ‘Slow Motion’ sounds a bit like that exact transition, begin­ning with easy-listening jazzy bits, moving on to vocal soul­ful house and even making it to light dance-​floor action. Not by any means dated chill, but rather modern soul.

01. Slow Motion
02. Winter Tales (Ft. Virag)
03. Let It Go (Ft. Virag)
04. Soverato 09
05. Everybodys Gotta Learn Sometimes (Ft. Virag)
06. Last Nite
07. Give It Back (Ft. Virag)
08. Enigma Of Summer Afternoon
09. Were Waiting (Ft. Virag)
10. Close Your Eyes (Ft. Virag)
11. Juy (Ft. Rachel Montana)
12. Wonderland (Ft. Miriam S)
13. Hustler (Ft. Jabere)
14. Make Your Day (Ft. Miriam S)
15. Gymnopedie No. 1